AEC logo
Welcome to Asia-Europe Classroom Network
Two Continents, One Classroom Learning beyond boundaries

Asia-Eurpoe Foundation

Subscribe eNews
 Sitemap Contact us Home
Past Conferences - 2008
OverviewProgramme AgendaGallery
Propose an AEC Project
Share Your Experience
Tell a Friend
The 9th Asia-Europe Classroom Network Conference was held in Gurgaon, NCR of Delhi, India from 12 to 16 November 2010. The conference was co-organised in collaboration with the St. Mark’s Senior Secondary Public School, Meera Bagh, with support from the Ministry of Human Resource Development, India.


The theme of the conference “Climate Change and Biodiversity: How They Are Connected and the Impact of Biodiversity Loss in the Community in Asia and Europe” was selected in conjunction with the 2010 International year for Biodiversity. The objective of the conference was to promote understanding on the value of biodiversity and to raise awareness of conserving biodiversity in the community through the educators and students.

The conference was attended by eighty-four (84) participants from fifty (50) schools from twenty-eight (28) ASEM* countries to initiate and participate in the collaborative ICT projects (AEC Projects).

A total of thirty-three (33) AEC projects, covering various themes and topics were proposed and will be implemented in 2010 to 2011. The conference also included the presentations by the AEC Award Finalists (6 groups consisting of one teacher and one student representative per group). The presentations were assessed by a panel of judges. Three (3) AEC Awards were conferred to the following winning groups, namely:

Eco Tourists’ Passports
Five Times Five
WHAZZUP? 2009-2010

Each group received a cash prize of EUR 2,000 to further develop their project or as seed funding for new online collaborations.

The Excellence Award Certificates were conferred to the other three (3) AEC Award Finalists:
Chain Stories 2009
East Speaks West, West Speaks East
Liveable Cities for “Generation Next”

More details on the AEC-NET is available here.

*Bulgaria, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Korea, Laos, Latvia, Lithuania, Malaysia, Mongolia, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Thailand and Vietnam.


Back to top